Infinitely Curious

Seeking a Renaissance in San Francisco

New York Bagels

DSC_0042If you remember, I made Jalapeno Popper Dip (and Veggie Buffalo Wings) for the Superbowl last week.  I still had a bit of the Jalapeno Popper Dip left over after the Superbowl party and didn’t want to waste it.  The dip is made with a primary base of cream cheese (and roasted jalapenos), so I figured I might as well try my hand at making bagels to use up the cream cheese!

Baking any kind of bread seems like a daunting task for me, so I’ve shied away from it.  These bagels were the first kind of bread I’ve ever made, but they were surprisingly straightforward to make!  My friend Mark, found me a recipe for New York Style Bagels, that I used.

The base recipe calls for just bread flour, yeast, sugar, salt, & water!  This recipe is shorter than most bagel recipes and only takes an hour and a half to two hours.  Remember, kneading the dough is a very important, so don’t get lazy on that part! Also, I ended up using about a 1/4th of cup water more than the recipe called for, so my dough was moist and firm.  Once the dough had risen and rested, I formed the bagels and boiled each side in water for about 2 minutes each.  I made mini bagels, so ended up with about 16 with the recipe.

I added the toppings before baking, making sesame, poppy seed, garlic, everything, and sharp cheddar bagels!  I baked mine for about 22-23 minutes until they were golden brown.  They turned out great, paired with the roasted jalapeno cream cheese, and weren’t at all hard to make!

Here are some photos of the process:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One comment on “New York Bagels

  1. Pattu Rajagopalan
    February 11, 2013

    Hi shruti, you have an innovative mind to do something new.Hats off to you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2013 by in Food, New York Bagels.

Blog Stats

  • 181,024 hits

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos
