Infinitely Curious

Seeking a Renaissance in San Francisco

Leopard Face Mask

Even though we’re a week past Halloween, I wanted to put up a post on my costume for this year.  Many Halloween costumes are so focused on the clothing that we forget that there are many ways to get into “character.”  Face paint and face makeup are easy ways to achieve your perfect Halloween look without having to rely on a fancy costume.

This year, I chose to go as a Leopard and experiment with a Leopard print face mask.  During my search for the perfect Leopard makeup tutorial, I came upon Petrilude’s video from awhile back:

There are many steps to the tutorial, so I’ve laid out photos and lists of the materials you’ll need.  I did practice a run-through of the look before Halloween, but it took me about 30 minutes to complete on the day of.  Here are photos of the materials and the finished look.

To create a realistic effect, you may want to consider concealing your eyebrows.  I ended up getting the spirit gum and prosthetic wax from a costume store, but you can use a simple glue stick and concealer to get the job done.  Check out the video below of Petrilude’s tips for concealing eyebrows.

Eyebrows:

  • Mehron Spirit Gum Adhesive
  • Ben Nye Nose & Scar Wax
  • Mehron Fixative (Prosthetic Sealer)

As for the rest of the makeup, you can pick it up at any drug store.  I’ve listed the materials I used and included the shades that worked for my darker skin tone.

Base Colors:

  • Dark Foundation: L’Oreal True Match Lumi Makeup C7-8 cool (nut brown cocoa)
  • Light Concealer: Cover Girl & Olay Concealer 210 (light)
  • Powder: Cover Girl trublend minerals 405 (translucent fair)
  • Blending Brush

Spots:

  • Liquid Liner: L’Oreal Lineur Intense (carbon black)
  • Dark Brown Eye Shadow: Chanel (mauve)
  • Eyeshadow Brush

Lips, Eyes, Nose, & Details:

  • Lipstick: Wet n Wild (black/noir)
  • Liquid Liner: L’Oreal Lineur Intense (carbon black)
  • Pencil: Cover Girl Brow Pencil (midnight black)

I wore a simple & comfortable, cotton black dress.  I finished off the look with cat ears & tail, that can be found at any costume store, but I got mine at Clarie’s (yes, I still shop there from time-to-time!).  You can pair the outfit with Leopard print boots and even fake fangs to make it look more realistic.  And now for the finished look – voilà!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 7, 2012 by in Beauty, Halloween, Leopard Face Mask, Makeup, Makeup Tutorial, Petrilude and tagged , , .

Blog Stats

  • 181,539 hits

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Flickr Photos

