Infinitely Curious

Seeking a Renaissance in San Francisco

My Lennon Favorites

John Lennon and Yoko Ono stage their performance ‘peace’ in Amsterdam, 1969. Photo by Hulton Getty

And here are some of my Lennon favorites, both from his solo career and his time with the Beatles.

Jealous Guy

I was dreaming of the past.
And my heart was beating fast,
I began to lose control,
I began to lose control,

I didn’t mean to hurt you,
I’m sorry that I mad you cry,
I didn’t want to hurt you,
I’m just a jealous guy,

I was feeling insecure,
You night not love me any more,

I was shivering inside,
I was shivering inside,

I was trying to catch your eyes,
Thought that you were trying to hide,
I was swallowing my pain,
I was swallowing my pain.


Give Peace a Chance

Ev’rybody’s talkin’ ’bout
Bagism, Shagism, Dragism, Madism, Ragism, Tagism
This-ism, that-ism, ism ism ism
All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance
(C’mon)
Ev’rybody’s talkin’ ’bout
Minister, Sinister, Banisters and Canisters,
Bishops, Fishops, Rabbis, and Pop Eyes, Bye bye, Bye byes
All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance
(Let me tell you now)
Ev’rybody’s talkin’ ’bout
Revolution, Evolution, Masturbation, Flagellation, Regulation,
Integrations, mediations, United Nations, congratulations
All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance
Ev’rybody’s talkin’ ’bout
John and Yoko, Timmy Leary, Rosemary,
Tommy Smothers, Bobby Dylan, Tommy Cooper,
Derek Taylor, Norman Mailer, Alan Ginsberg, Hare Krishna
Hare Hare Krishna
All we are saying is give peace a chance
All we are saying is give peace a chance


Revolution

You say you want a revolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
You tell me that it’s evolution
Well, you know
We all want to change the world
But when you talk about destruction
Don’t you know that you can count me out
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right

You say you got a real solution
Well, you know
We’d all love to see the plan
You ask me for a contribution
Well, you know
We’re doing what we can
But when you want money
for people with minds that hate
All I can tell is brother you have to wait
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right
Ah

ah, ah, ah, ah, ah…

You say you’ll change the constitution
Well, you know
We all want to change your head
You tell me it’s the institution
Well, you know
You better free you mind instead
But if you go carrying pictures of chairman Mao
You ain’t going to make it with anyone anyhow
Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right
all right, all right
all right, all right, all right
all right, all right, all right

In My Life

There are places I’ll remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever, not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places had their moments
With lovers and friends, I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life, I’ve loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these memories lose their meaning
When I think of love as something new
Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life, I’ll love you more

Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life, I’ll love you more



Ballad of John and Yoko

Standing in the dock at Southampton,
Trying to get to Holland or France.
The man in the mack said, “You’ve got to turn back”.
You know they didn’t even give us a chance.
Christ you know it ain’t easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.
Finally made the plane into Paris,
Honey mooning down by the Seine.
Peter Brown called to say,
“You can make it O.K.,
You can get married in Gibraltar, near Spain”.
Christ you know it ain’t easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.
Drove from Paris to the Amsterdam Hilton,
Talking in our beds for a week.
The newspapers said, “Say what you doing in bed?”
I said, “We’re only trying to get us some peace”.
Christ you know it ain’t easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.
Saving up your money for a rainy day,
Giving all your clothes to charity.
Last night the wife said,
“Oh boy, when you’re dead
You don’t take nothing with you
But your soul – think!”
Made a lightning trip to Vienna,
eating chocolate cake in a bag.
The newspapers said, “She’s gone to his head,
They look just like two gurus in drag”.
Christ you know it ain’t easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.
Caught an early plane back to London.
Fifty acorns tied in a sack.
The men from the press said, “We wish you success,
It’s good to have the both of you back”.
Christ you know it ain’t easy,
You know how hard it can be.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.
The way things are going
They’re going to crucify me.



Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2010 by in Ballad of John and Yoko, Give Peace A Chance, In My Life, Jealous Guy, John Lennon, Music, Revolution, The Beatles.

Blog Stats

  • 182,022 hits

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Flickr Photos

