Infinitely Curious

Seeking a Renaissance in San Francisco

“I Got a Woman”

Ray Charles

Now it’s no news that I’m a Beatles fan – I spent practically all of 2004 only listening to The Beatles (I know, I tend to get a bit obsessed).  I think I’m familiar with most of their songs/performances, but I was listening to their Live at the BBC album the other day and noticed that they had done a remake of Ray Charles‘ “I Got a Woman.”  I did a bit of digging on the song and realized that so many artists have either sampled or performed remakes of the song.

“I Got a Woman” was released in December 1954 as a single on the Atlantic Label.  Charles actually created the song off of piece by The Southern Tones, “It Must Be Jesus.”  “I Got a Woman” mixes a gospel pace with a jazz/R&B twist.  It’s interesting to note that even though several artists have remade/sampled Charles’ song, he himself was inspired by an earlier song.  “I Got a Woman” eventually went on to make Rolling Stone‘s list of 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

“I got a woman way over town that’s good to me oh yeah
Say I got a woman way over town good to me oh yeah
She give me money when Im in need
Yeah she’s a kind of friend indeed
I got a woman way over town that’s good to me oh yeah

Below is a video clip of Ray Charles’ original version as well as videos of a few artists who have added their own twist to the piece: Elvis, The Beatles, and John Mayer Trio.  And of course, we all know (50 years since its original production) Kanye teamed up with Jamie Foxx to sample “I Got a Woman” for his 2005 hit “Gold Digger.”

Ray Charles: 1954

The Beatles: 1963

Elvis Presley: 1970

John Mayer Trio: 2005

Kanye West (ft. Jamie Foxx) – “Gold Digger” : 2005


Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2010 by in Elvis Presley, Kanye West, Ray Charles, The Beatles.

Blog Stats

  • 181,539 hits

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 171 other followers

Flickr Photos

